Down and out

life bar

Anyone have any red medicine. Or a fairy?

They say all things come in threes. If that’s the case I am glad to be done with my third sickness/injury of the season. I just hope that this means I will be free and clear of any training deterrence for the rest of the season.

A few weeks ago both feet and right knee started really bothering me during workouts. On one occasion it even kept me from finishing a long run. I did the usual remedies–I stretched, I rested, I even switched out my shoes. After around 10 days…BOOM! All better. Ready to rock!

Wrong.

A bad cold took up residence inside my head and decided to wreak havoc on me. It was especially annoying since I had just been sick around Christmas. Once again I did my usual remedies–I rested, I ate especially well, and I imbibed enough drugs to start my own pharmacy. After 7 days…BOOM! All better. Surely now I was ready to rock.

Wrong. WRONG!

After getting over my cold I promptly received a visit from the Random-Back-Injury Fairy. Why do I say random? Because I have no clue how it got this way. It didn’t happen in training. I didn’t take a fall. I don’t remember getting hit by a bus or trampled by hippos. Yet nonetheless my lower back feels like someone took dull-ended iron rebar and jabbed me over and over. I tried my normal remedies–foam roll, stretch, child’s pose, rest. And 7 days later…still crap.

Are you kidding me?!

Okay. Zen Steve. Go to your happy place…

Alright. I am hoping to be better in a couple of days. My coach has given me a stretching regimen and I will incorporate some light cardio to loosen up. Maybe in the spirit of recovery some strong drinks to loosen the muscles and a massage may be in order. Here’s to getting my first injuries of the year out of the way! Should be all clear for the rest of the year…right world?

This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Down and out

  1. mwballou says:

    I had my back go out 5 times last year. If you find a good acupuncturist and/or chiropractor, they can have you back on your feet in no time. Without them, recovery time was about 8-10 days. With them, I am usually back into light training in 2 days, and fully back at it a day or two after that depending on the soreness.

Leave a Reply

