Steve on steroids

foot 2

Physical therapist David McClure administers a therapy of steroid cream and ultrasound.

I never thought the day would arrive when I would become a user–but it finally arrived last Thursday.

Immediately after crossing the finish line at IRONMAN Wisconsin my left foot began to hurt. My reaction: Who cares?

The race was over. I pushed my body past my old limits into territory unknown, and when it counted it gave me everything I wanted and more. So I wasn’t really concerned about some pain and discomfort. As far as I was concerned my foot deserved to feel bad if it was so inclined. I could hide the slight limp the injury caused and was sure that with a little rest it would just go away.

It hasn’t.

Finally, after almost three weeks of rest, I scheduled an appointment at the Orthopedic & Sports Enhancement Center in Bloomington. The doctors there put me through a battery of highly scientific tests which I could definitely explain but won’t because you wouldn’t understand. Anyway, it turns out I have peroneal tendonitis.

Closer shot of ultrasound treatment. I didn’t get to see the heartbeat.

Fortunately this strand of tendonitis isn’t contagious, but it will require some therapy. For the next three weeks I will be receiving treatments of steroid cream and ultrasound. I can only assume that at the end of the three weeks my left foot will be super ripped, so I am engaged in rigorous strength training to make sure my right foot keeps up.

I’ll be eager to get this injury taken care of. I am well past the time where I am having fun laying off of training and am eager to be back in action. I have even been getting my goals and schedule for next year ready (more on that later).

 

Author’s note: All jokes aside, big thanks to the staff at the Orthopedic and Sports Enhancement Center. They really understand sports injuries and I have full confidence in their ability to get me back on the road in time to enjoy the last of the good training weather.

This entry was posted in Cycling, Running, Swimming, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steve on steroids

  1. Pingback: Steve on steroids | Portfolio of Steven BarcusPortfolio of Steven Barcus

Leave a Reply

