REV3 Dells: 70.3

On august 12 I completed a major training milestone, my first 70.3 triathlon at REV3 Wisconsin Dells. This was my big race for 2012, and I had been looking forward to it for more than a year ago when I signed up. I wasn’t disappointed. REV3 came with all of the excitement and pomp that an event like this deserves.

The official REV3 race bib and visor.

I’ll give you the highlights.

The day before race day I headed over for the open water swim to test things out. The swim portion was held at the site of the Tommy Bartlett Show, so I got to swim where I watched skiers and stuntmen as a child. I wonder what lil’ Steve would have said if I told him he’d be doing a 70.3 there someday!

Enough gel to keep me moving for months!

The open swim was great. Glad a brought my wetsuit because the water was crisp. I was satisfied after 15 minutes of swimming, so I got ready and headed to the expo for check in. This expo was awesome! I got to try on Newton and Pearl Izumi running shoes, drink a lot of Muscle Milk, get my legs worked over in a pair of $3,000 Normatech boots, enter a giveaway contest by FlyingJ, and see a giant gel at the Powerbar booth. You could feel the excitement in the air. It was so much fun! I rounded out the day by racking my bike in transition and having a group dinner with the Tri-Sharks before getting to bed at a decent hour so I could wake up “refreshed” at 5 a.m. I fell asleep right away. I have never been in the habit of worrying before a race. No point in starting now.

Me, Laura Wheatley, and Lew Wheatley enjoying some Muscle Milk and relaxing in top-of-the-line Normatech boots.

The next morning I went with the friends I was staying with to transition area to prepare for the race. My spot in transition was on an end, so I had a lot of room to get organized. It didn’t take long to sort everything out. I was ready by the time we got the announcement that the transition area was closing. I gulped down a gel, wrestled on my wetsuit, and headed to the swim start.

The swim was notable in that it it was my first swim that wasn’t a mass start. Instead we were launched two by two off of a dock. When my time came I jumped in and attacked the water. It was pretty brisk, but I had expected it, so there were no problems with the swim. I finished in 42 minutes and 20 seconds. This was what I was hoping for, so I was off to a great start.

The first part of the 1.2 mile swim course.

Fast forward through transition, and I am on the bike. I knew what I was in for since I rode the course earlier in the summer. I wasn’t worried about it though. I had trained hard, and I already knew I could do it. Actually, anytime I was ascending a hill I found that I was PASSING other riders. I credit this to a new climbing cassette I had installed before the race and sheer grit. The descents weren’t necessarily a relief–it was not uncommon to be doing 45-50 mph. You do not want to make a mistake at those speeds. Luckily the only error I made on the ride was dropping both bottles when going through an aid station (I guess I wasn’t really thirsty anyway…). My chain came off at one point too, but compared to the person I saw whose brakes went out on one of the big descents, I’ll count myself lucky. I finished the grueling, hilly ride after 3 hours and 32 minutes. Everything was still going to plan.

I cannot really convey how happy I was to get off the bike and start running, so I won’t even try. Just believe me when I say I was thrilled. The course took me through the Dells, so I had plenty of scenery between the tourist attractions and eventually the wooded area. I switched between water, Gatorade, and Coke at the aid stations and managed to hold it all down. After 13 miles, I got to run down the final chute toward a cheering crowd. My picture appeared on the jumbotron as the announcer shouted my name. I was a great moment. I was tired, but I felt great. Official run time was 2 hours and 17 seconds (my timing shows I am at 1:57). This time was also within my target times.

Another race complete! Final official time was 6 hours and 23 minutes.

After the race I proudly wore my REV3 medal and recapped the race with my fellow Tri-Sharks over post race brats. What a day! Overall time of 6 hours and 23 minutes. I avoided the wall and have a major physical feat under my belt. REV3 Wisconsin Dells absolutely rocked! Bring on the next challenge!

This entry was posted in Asics, Bike, Cycling, Kestrel, Muscle Milk, Newton, Normatech, Pearl Izumi, Powerbar, REV3, Running, Swimming, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REV3 Dells: 70.3

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Excellent time! Well done!

Leave a Reply

