Cologne bath

The other day I decided to do some cross training at ISU’s Fitness Center. The marathon training is going great, with three weeks to go, the final 20-miler finished, and only tapering ahead. But I digress.

So I’m in my own lane, minding my own business, when I am asked if I would mind sharing the lane. I coughed out a “Sure” before diving back down and doing another lap. When I came back to the other end and brought my head out of the water, I started to choke. Yeah, head OUT of the water and I was gagging.

This dude had so much cologne on that the chlorine wasn’t doing anything for it. I don’t know what his goal was. Maybe in his mind he would have been doing some half-assed laps before the stench of his smell-alike of Obsession or whatever it was attracted droves of females. Maybe he just saw way too many Axe commercials. Either way, this was very unpleasant. I’ve walked into Bath and Body Works stores that smelled more neutral than the pool at that point.

I did not leave the pool that night smelling like chlorine, which is too bad, because occasionally I like the smell. Makes me think of summer. The only thing I knew was that it was going to take a bar of lava soap and a soak in a tub full of tomato juice to get that much wreak off of me.

This entry was posted in Marathon, Swimming, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cologne bath

  1. Clint says:

    Same thing has happened to me when running on the constitution trail. I would much rather smell someones body odor than the cologne/perfume bath they took before running. My thought is that if they pile that much on they must be hiding the fact that they smell like shit on a regular basis. “Why take a shower when I can pour this bottle Chanel all over my body?”

    • Steve B. says:

      Yeah, I guess he is unfamiliar with some basic “smell equations.”

      Good smell + good smell = Bad smell
      Good smell + bad smell = Bad smell
      Bad smell + bad smell = Awful smell

Leave a Reply

